President Sarah Jackson is known as a communications and public affairs powerhouse with big plans for The Texas Lyceum under her presidency, and that's just scratching the surface. So, we took a moment to dig deep with Sarah with 22 questions for 2022. From her favorite vacation spot in Texas, to her song anthem for the year, take a moment to get to know her a little more.

Dear Texas Lyceum Friends,

We are living in dynamic times.  The electoral and demographic landscape of Texas looks even more different and diverse than it did a hundred years ago in in 1922.  Global events have led to private and public sector leaders facing challenges never seen by their predecessors.  But the convergence of these circumstances also present new opportunities.  The Texas Lyceum is well-positioned to play a pivotal role in leading our great state in this new environment. 

Our Texas Lyceum Directors and Alumni are influential leaders who serve their communities and collaborate on the solutions and innovations that will take the state through this decade.  We work together to foster greater connectivity and keep a focus on the future of Texas. 

The Texas Lyceum explores the interrelationships of the pressing policy issues impacting our state and the next generation of leaders.  We strive to provide paths for action through civil discourse.  Our unrivaled programs provide the forum for this civil discourse.  We hope you will join us in 2022 as we discuss the:

  1. Confluence of commerce and cultural richness in our El Paso border region (January 27-29),

  2. Major issues driving our state in this 2020 decade in the state’s fastest growing city, Frisco (March 31-April 2 | Public Conference),

  3. State of the travel and tourism industry in one of the nation’s top tourist destinations – Orlando, FL (July 13-15),

  4. Future of West Texas in one of The Panhandle’s most unique cities, Amarillo (September 15-17), and

  5. Future of East Texas in one of the most flourishing “Pine Curtain” cities, Longview (November 3-5).

In addition to our programs, we will also release the results from our nationally acclaimed Texas Lyceum Poll at the public conference in Frisco. We will also release innovative research from our Texas Lyceum Fellows at Texas A&M University, Texas Tech University, and Texas Southern University.  Follow us online ( and on social media for the latest on our programs, products, and people.

This year will be exciting for our state and organization.  We hope you will join us as we travel throughout metropolitan and rural areas of Texas (and to Florida) to strengthen our bonds, deliver our preeminent programs and inspire civil discourse.  Together, we will advance the conversation on the most significant issues facing Texas.

In partnership and service,

Sarah Jackson
2022 President, The Texas Lyceum