The Texas Lyceum Leadership Scholarships

One of the missions of the Texas Lyceum is to identify and develop the next generation of top leadership in Texas. To do this, we invest in our Texas schools, communities, and future leaders by offering scholarships to qualified individuals. Our purpose in offering these scholarships is to assist motivated Texas students, exhibiting leadership qualities, in reaching their goals through higher education.

The leadership scholarships are intended to promote education and leadership within the great state of Texas as well as to reflect its diversity. Eligible candidates will be selected based on financial need, academic standing, and leadership qualities.

Eligibility criteria for application consideration:

  • Texas resident and U.S. Citizen or legal resident
  • Exhibited leadership in school and community activities
  • Minimum grade point average of 3.0
  • Pursuing a course of study in public policy
  • Enrollment as a sophomore, junior or senior in one of the Texas colleges or universities listed below in the 2018-2019 academic year
The College/University Advisory or Scholarship Committee reviews applications and ranks them based on the following criteria: Applicant’s academic standing: 20 points; Applicant’s essay response (3 pages): 30 points. After The College/University Advisory or Scholarship Advisory Committee reviews the applications and selects finalists, the Committee will consult with The Texas Lyceum Scholarship Committee on the final selection.  The College/University Advisory or Scholarship Committee will inform the successful awardee.

The Texas Lyceum will not be offering scholarships to graduating high school seniors in 2018.

Scholarships for College Undergraduate Students

Scholarship recipients are expected to give back to the communities in which the Lyceum is holding its four regular quarterly meetings in 2018. Students must be enrolled in one of the four institutions below in the 2018-2019 academic year:

To access the applications, click on the name of the college or university.

Applicants must submit evidence of strong leadership, academic record, honors, personal essays, references, potential to succeed, participation in school and community activities, and financial need.

Any student meeting the eligibility requirements may apply for a Texas Lyceum Leadership Scholarship. Each scholarship is $2,500 and will be paid directly to the college or university once the student has presented proof of enrollment. It will be the student's responsibility to send proof of enrollment to the Lyceum office as well as to whom and where scholarship monies should be sent. Scholarship recipients will be presented with their award at the Lyceum conference held in the city in which they are a student.

There are no restrictions on full or part-time student status. All prospective candidates must submit a completed application prior to the deadline (incomplete applications will not be considered). Applications and required documentation (resumes, essays, references, and transcripts) must be submitted electronically. The Texas Lyceum Leadership Scholarship Committee has the sole responsibility for selecting recipients, basing the decision on criteria as set forth in the program's narrative and submitted applications. Decisions of the Committee are final.

The Texas Lyceum Leadership Scholarship program will be managed by the Texas Lyceum Leadership Scholarship Committee. In exercising its role, the Committee has the following responsibilities:

  • Review the program annually
  • Establish the program policies
  • Oversee and approve changes to the program requirements
  • Coordinate the selection process
  • Review specific issues raised by individual participants

For questions about the Leadership Scholarships, contact the Texas Lyceum at 512-992-0715 or send an email to 

High School Award Recipients


K.Puente, Houston, Texas Tech University


A. Caporali, Center, Texas A&M University

I. Desai, Katy, Rice University

R. Martinez, San Antonio, The University of Texas at Arlington

J. Minter, Pasadena, Baylor University

A. Morgan, El Paso, The University of Texas at Austin

M. Pham, Houston, Rice University

J. Rocha, Rio Grande City, Baylor University


S. Gandhi, Friendswood, The University of Texas at Austin

G. Garcia, Houston, Texas A&M University

M. Jacobs, Yoakum, The University of Texas at Austin


K. Daniel, Huntsville, The University of Texas at Austin

W. Dean, Rockdale, Texas A&M University

C. Fulcher, Houston, The University of Texas at Austin

B. Rodriguez-Nino, Austin, The University of Texas at Austin

K. Thornton, Liberty, Texas A&M University

S. Zhang, Katy, Texas A&M University

T. Fuller, Houston, Texas A&M University

A. Singh, Baytown, The University of Texas at Austin

C. Bordner, Robinson, Texas A&M University

N. Palanetskaya, Grapevine, Texas A&M University

The Texas Lyceum © 2014  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions

The Texas Lyceum • 512-992-0026

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software